If I get to heaven (poem)

If I get to heaven
I’ll drop you a line,
Just to let you know,
That I am doing fine.
If wings and a halo
are dispensed to me,
An eternally happy person
Forever, I shall be!
by Mary Ann Matulis
IMG_0928
19 Responses to “If I get to heaven (poem)”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Hey Girl,

    This is Sandy. How are things going? I have been diagnosed with MRSA and have been feeling pretty bad. I closed down all my blog activity and have just started a new one. I have done a post on MRSA with the symptoms I have had and what to do. So need your prayers. Do you know of any Saint for like Staph infections or the like?

    Have thought about you a lot, have just not felt like doing any of this or anything for that matter. Am extremely fatigued.

    Let me know of any Saint that you know. God Bless and take care, Sandy

  2. Sandy Says:

    My new blog address is http://godforgivesusall.wordpress.com Also need your prayers please. Thanks so much.

  3. brendakaren Says:

    Hi Sandy,
    I am ok and feeling well. A melanoma was found about a month ago and I have had two operations. The stitches from the second one will be removed tomorrow. Hopefully that will be the end of the matter. Also God healed me about eight days ago of a health problem that has caused many difficulties for me for nearly ten years. I am so happy about that.

    I am sorry to hear about the MRSA. My recommendation is to pray daily for the Holy Souls in Purgatory and to ask for their intercession for a healing of the condition. In addition I advise you to offer the prayers that you say for the Holy Souls in Purgatory in honour of the whole court of heaven especially St Rita, the saint of the impossible. St Rita healed a friend of mine who had become crippled due to a lot of pain. Following a novena to St Rita, the friend was healed.

    I will pray for a healing of the MRSA for you. I also ask everyone who visits the blog and reads this post to pray for your healing also.

    I recommend the following prayers to you.

    A Prayer to the Poor Souls in Purgatory
    O holy souls in Purgatory, thou are the certain heirs of Heaven. Thou are most dear to Jesus, as the trophies of His Precious Blood and to Mary, Mother of Mercy. Obtain for me, through thine intercession, the grace to lead a holy life, to die a happy death and to attain to the blessedness of eternity in Heaven. Dear suffering souls, who long to be delivered in order to praise and glorify God in Heaven, by thine unfailing pity, help me in the needs which distress me at this time, particularly (here mention your request), so that I may obtain relief and assistance from God.

    In gratitude for thine intercession, I offer to God on thy behalf the satisfactory merits of my prayers, works, joys and sufferings of this day (week, month, or whatever space of time you wish to designate). I also make this offering in honour of the whole court of heaven (especially St Rita, Saint of the impossible) and I ask them to grant me these favours also. Amen.

    Our Lord dictated the following prayer to St Gertrude the Great to release many souls from Purgatory each time it is said.

    Prayer of St. Gertrude the Great.
    Eternal Father, I offer Thee the most Precious Blood of Thy Divine Son, Jesus, in union with the Masses said throughout the world today, for all the holy souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere, for sinners in the universal Church, those in my own home and within my family. Amen.

    http://missionbell.homestead.com/Afavourgrantedbytheholysouls.html

    St Rita webpage: http://missionbell.homestead.com/strita.html

  4. Sandy Says:

    Thank you so much for all the prayers. Feeling pretty bad today. You are correct regarding St. Rita, my mother had gangreen she is a diabetic and I remember praying to St. Rita and asking her to pray for my mother and my mother was healed. Because of you I have been praying for the Holy Souls in purgatory everyday now. I thank you for reminding me about that.

    I am so sorry to hear about your melanoma. I am going to go Tuesday and have a mole taken off of me, and we are sending that off also. Of course it could be due to the MRSA also. Who knows? I will be and have been keeping you in my prayers also.

    I thank God so much for healing you of your health problems and am so glad that is over for you. He knows I need you:>) and cannot let anything happen to you. For some reason you have just touched my soul.

    Take care and I thank you so much. God Bless, Sandy

    PS You have my email and anytime you want to email me please feel free. Seems we have a lot in common.

  5. brendakaren Says:

    I put up a small testimony on the St Rita webpage regarding the healing of your mother from the gangreen. If there is a story about this that I can use for the book I would love to hear about it, but only if you are feeling ok. I don’t want you to write anything when you are not feeling well. Anyway my prayers are on the way for you.

    http://missionbell.homestead.com/StRita.html

  6. Sandy Says:

    Yes there is a story. She had a cyst taken off of her finger off of her finger next to the thumb. No big deal for those of us without diabetes. I took her to get her check up and when the doctor unwrapped the finger it was black from the tip to the first knuckle with no feeling at all, gangreen. Also we did not know at the time my mother also had MRSA which is a staph infection. (This has no connection to mine as this was three years ago)

    I begin to pray for St. Rita to ask God to heal my mother’s finger. The next week I took her back to the doctor and he unwrapped the finger and her flesh was pink and had feeling in the finger. This was on top of her having staph which truly her finger should have been removed.

    When we found out she had staph which was about three weeks later I again prayed to St. Rita to ask God to heal my mother. She was given antibiotics but before we caught it, mother had boils going completely down her legs, and again you must remember the diabetes. (Things like this for a diabetic are always life threatening) Within the week mother was healed again.

    I thank St. Rita for her prayers so much, as I truly believe without her intercession to our Father, and God healing her, my mother would be dead today.

    God Bless, Sandy

  7. Sandy Says:

    It is me again. I have lost the address to your book regarding your miracles and would like to put it back on my blog. I was getting where several were reading it. Thanks so much for all of your help and your prayers. Sandy

  8. brendakaren Says:

    That is a wonderful story about St Rita’s help for your mother. She really is the right saint to help you.

    I will put the story in the book. Thank you.

    The book address is:

    http://missionbell.homestead.com/HelpFromHeavenBook.html

  9. Sandy Says:

    Thanks for the address. I just did a post on Mary calling me to the Church at http://godforgivesusall.wordpress.com Thought maybe you could use if for your book if you want. Take care. Sandy

  10. brendakaren Says:

    Thank you for the story on how you came into the church. It is a wonderful addition to the book. I believe that it will benefit those who read it.

  11. Sandy Says:

    You are very welcome I hope you can use it, as truly it was a wash down version of all that went on. I tried to give the most important parts of it, but you know it has been the greatest miracle and blessing God has ever given to me, as far as meeting all of my spiritual needs. It was a very long haul, and I was very Protestant. In saying that I am not saying anything was wrong in being Protestant, I just needed more, and the more I needed was her Son. I did not go to Church for that entire year, because I did not know where I belonged. It was very hard. Thanks so much for all your kindness to me. Hope all goes well today with you. Sandy

  12. Sandy Says:

    Hey, How did the stitches go? Hope okay. I get mine taken off tomorrow, today is a holiday for us. If you do not mind me asking, “Where did you get the prayer praying for the Holy Souls? Or is that your prayer, in case I apologize.

    I am feeling much better today. Still a little draggy but I know with as many praying for me as there are and especially your sweet prayers, I will be okay. Have you ever noticed when we are sick and feel like poop, it is so hard to pray sometimes? At least it is for me.

    I have had four views on your book. Take care and know my prayers have been with you for your doctor’s visit today. Sandy

  13. brendakaren Says:

    I visited the doctor today and had the stitches from the second operation removed. There are no more pre-cancerous cells, but I am at high risk of developing a melanoma in another part of the body. The doctor thought that it would be helpful to give me some stats. Apparently I have a five percent change of dying within five years from this condition! It would have been better for him to keep that information to himself.

    The first part of the prayer came from a book on Purgatory and the second part which is about praying in honour of the whole court of heaven (especially St Rita) was composed by me.

    Yes when I am ill it is often very hard to pray, but when I have been really in bad shape e.g. with pain, I have prayed anyway because I desperately wanted to get rid of it.

    One of the worse things is when I am suffering badly from something and have prayed hard and it is now late in the night and my husband has come to bed and the lights are out, I think if I was only single that I could pray some more for the alleviation of the pain or whatever it is. It is then that I have learnt to say that I have prayed plenty and I cannot continue to do so, because I will disturb my husband’s sleep and God will make allowances for this and in the morning things will be ok and often they are. The other part of that is is that I have to force myself to sleep and not concentrate on the pain or whatever is the problem e.g. dizzyness.

    Thank you for your prayers. We all support each other in this way.

  14. Sandy Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about all of your pain. I have fibromyalgia and have had for the past five years and I am in pain every day of my life. That is another long story. I will email you that one later.

    As far as praying disturbing husband I understand what you are saying, and God does so make allowances. But when I have to I will get up and go into another room, especially if I am in pain and cannot sleep anyways. I will pray there.

    As for as your “death in five years” I cannot tell you how many times I have been told I was going to die. They even created illnesses I did not have, but I am still here. I believe this with all of my heart. God is the only one who knows when we are going to die. My grandmother was supposed to die in 1990 and she died in 2008 at the age of 96. My cousin who had liver cancer they gave him six months and he lived for three more years. Death is in the hands of God, not medical science.

    God has not cured me even though for years I prayed He would. You know one day, I came to realize if I would accept the hand which was dealt to me, learn to live with that hand, and most of all hold onto God’s Hand, I would get through it. I quit praying for it, accepted His will, trusted Him to get me through each and every day, and I have been fine. It is not to say I do not hurt, but I hurt with God now, and I make it. I have helped a lot of others with the same thing.

    My Patron Saint is St. Faustina, have you ever read her Diary? If not get it. She is the one who taught me how to suffer and unite it with the sufferings of Jesus on the Cross. She also taught me how to resign myself to suffering. I have learned it is not so much the suffering but how we do it. I remember standing in the grocery store with my 75 year old mother putting groceries in my cart, and me standing in the middle of the isle crying. Like I said I will email you that as some of it is very personal.

    I love your prayers and I know God does also. Always remember our very worst of prayers are the very best of prayers to God. Remember this also, you have so touched my heart with your beautiful soul, and one does not have such a beautiful soul without suffering it seems. All the people I have ever known that are beautiful inside and out, always had much suffering. You have touched my life, and you cannot be wrong in that.

    Talk to you tomorrow. God Bless Sandy

  15. brendakaren Says:

    I thought about it and as you say: we live as long as God decides not
    how long the doctor says. Stats don’t mean much.

    I would get up and pray in another room at night but I don’t think my husband would like that* he would prefer me to sleep and usually I am too tired anyway.

    I bought a diary of St Faustina but gave it away. However I do pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet and know that it is a great source of grace and help.

    *He does like prayer but in what he considers to be the right time of day.

  16. Sandy Says:

    I want you to remember something. Yes, God likes prayers at certain times and Jesus Himself gave us some of these times like 3:00p.m. The hour of mercy. But David when he found out he sinned never took another step without going to God first no matter what time of day or night it was. I pray to God a lot. I talk to God a lot. That does not mean it is always at a precise time and moment. Some are and some are not. If I have something to say to God, I like David say it. We are never turned away when we go to God.
    Take care, Sandy

  17. Sandy Says:

    How is my girl today? I hope feeling better. I started Novena for you last night and say it the very last prayer at night.

    I want to share something with you that may help you through this. At one time I suffered greatly in my life in pain, still do at times. Reading St. Faustina’s Diary helped me more than anything regarding suffering. I always offer my suffering for someone else, usually a child, like at St. Jude’s. When I do this even though I still have pain, the suffering becomes so tolerable. In fact it does not even matter to me truly. Just to let you know what I do with it.

    I had the mole taken off and sent off today. Doctor said abscess is so much better, and looks like all might be going well, just to watch and make sure another one does not come up or this one gets reinfected. Thanks to the prayer of St. Rita and God answering those prayers. Also thanks to you and others for prayers.

    Know you are in my heart and I take you with me where I go and in what I do, especially in my prayers.

    Take care and God Bless, Sandy

  18. brendakaren Says:

    I am feeling very well today. All the health issues have been handed over to the Holy Souls in Purgatory and I have great confidence in them. Yes offering up suffering is the way to go. St Therese constantly taught that. I greatly appreciate the novena.

  19. Sandy Says:

    Great you are feeling better. Holy Souls in Purgatory are tearing up heaven right now with prayers I bet. Please no thanks for the Novena, it is my honor to pray for you.

    Take care and will holler at you tomorrow. Good night. Sandy


Leave a Reply

