Favours from the saints: A bad case of laryngitis (Saint Blaise)

Each month I used to meet with a friend.  We attended Mass at the cathedral and then had lunch at the shopping centre afterwards. On one of these occasions my friend showed up with a very severe case of laryngitis.  She told me that she had been in this state for a few weeks. I introduced her to the priest.  He gave her a blessing in honour of Saint Blaise the patron saint of throats.  I jokingly remarked to her, “You should be all fixed up now because Father has blessed you.”  We went into the church. A few minutes later the Mass began.  I was amazed to hear my friend singing the hymn in her full strength soprano voice. 

Saint Blaise is the saint who is invoked for protection against throat problems. On his feast day (February 3),  there is a special blessing.  The priest takes two candles which are held in a crossed position and places them upon the throat of the person to be blessed and invokes Saint Blaise to protect the person from throat troubles.

This story is from my book: Help from heaven (Answers to prayer), which can be read free on-line here. 

2 Responses to “Favours from the saints: A bad case of laryngitis (Saint Blaise)”

  1. Rev. Robert Couto Says:

    St. Blaise, Bishop and Martyr, I beg you to pray for Gilda Couto, my mother, that she may be healed of every ailment of the throat and have a desire to swallow her food. Heal her of every ailment, every evil. Heal her throat and entire digestive system and beg Jesus to restore her to full health. Amen and Amen

  2. brendakaren Says:

    I will join you in praying for the healing of your mother’s health.


Leave a Reply

