The Clutter Monster (Poem)

Watch out for the clutter monster,
Who wants to ruin your life.
He’ll move in uninvited,
And proceed to cause you strife.

He tells you to save,
Each magazine and bill,
If you follow his advice, 
Your house will over-fill !

He tells you to keep this,
He tells you to keep that,
Even to keep,
Your grandfather’s hat.

With things in boxes,
All over the place,
You’ll soon find out,
You have no space!

He’s convinced you to keep,
All of your junk.
His advice to you,
Is just plain bunk!

Throw out some paper,
And claim your life back,
The clutter monster,
Will at first give you flack.

If you keep up your efforts,
Your house will look swell.
Clutter monster in your house,
No longer shall dwell.
I hope that the poem inspires you to declutter.
4 Responses to “The Clutter Monster (Poem)”

  1. Jenny Bratton Says:

    Hi, Brenda Karen,
    I’m writing a book on de-cluttering and I came across this poem while doing research on the internet for my book. I absolutely LOVE it and it would be the perfect poem to include. Can I have your written permission? I will attribute you as the author and list your website in the bibliography section of the book. The book is going to the hands of my editor on the 28th of July (in three days time), so this is a rush request. Sincerely yours,
    Jenny Lin Bratton
    fenrulin@hotmail.com

  2. brendakaren Says:

    Hi Jenny, The book sounds like a great idea. I will send you a private email regarding the poem.

  3. Author Michelle Alford Says:

    Hello Brenda, just wanted you to know that I am reading your poem today on my radio show as the poet pick and poem of the week.
    Thank you Michelle. I feel honoured.
    (Mary Ann)
    Australia
    P.S. Mary Ann is my real name. BrendaKaren is a combination of my two sister-in-laws’ names and my daughter’s name is also Brenda.

  4. Sherry Says:

    I Will be reading your poem at Clutterers Anonymous aka CLA in Delray Beach FL. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

